Comcast in Washington State

IMPORTANT NOTE: THIS SITE IS BEING PHASED OUT AS WE MOVE TO A NEW LOCATION: PLEASE LOOK THERE FOR THE LATEST NEWS! (Note, we can't hyperlink in this box to that new address, so please cut and paste it into your browser)

Comcast Names 90 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Recipients for 2014 in Western Washington and Spokane

The Comcast Foundation today announced the 2014-15 recipients of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program awards.

“This year’s scholarship winners demonstrate exemplary commitment to leadership in both their classrooms and community,” said Len Rozek, senior vice president of Comcast in Washington. “We are proud to recognize their achievements, and are excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys.”

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program provides $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

The students who can attend will be honored in June at a ceremony at the Washington State Governor’s Mansion in Olympia.

Here are the students, listed by the city where they live:


Maggie Elston, Auburn Senior High School

Drew Wallen, Auburn Riverside High School

Zachary Wildin, Auburn Mountainview High School


Kaitlyn David,  The Bush School

Lucas Moyer, Newport High School


Katherine Bauer,  Bellingham High School

Hunter Hanlon, Squalicum High School

Davis Phillips, Meridian High School

Kelsey Marie Willis, Sehome High School

Bonney Lake

Mariah Deschamps, Sumner Senior High School

Haley Russell, Auburn Adventist Academy


Heidi Dauenhauer, Lynnwood High School
Kelly Hoang,  Henry M. Jackson High School


Allison Kay Gherna, Klahowya Secondary School

William Leshley, Olympic High School


Krista Baldwin, Burlington-Edison High School


Lindsey Giffey, W.F.West High School

Mckenzie Kooch, Coupeville High School


Kaitlin Jenkins, Kentwood Senior High School

Des Moines
Jenessa Ho, Federal Way High School

Lauren Gillis, Cedar Park Christian Schools

Jenel Hunter, Muckleshoot Tribal School
Emma Shover,  Bellarmine Preparatory School

Elizabeth Avalos Duarte, Aces Alternative High School
Rachel Do, Mariner High School
Nicholas Janner, Cascade High School

Federal Way 
Dylan DeTray, Thomas Jefferson High School
Jacqueline K Sherburne, Decatur High School
Hector Zaldivar, Todd Beamer High School

Robert Semu,  Ferndale High School

Gig Harbor
McKenzi Bravo, Peninsula High School
Tyler Martin, Gig Harbor High School

Granite Falls
Heather Hirschi, Granite Falls High School

Hannah Stulberg, Issaquah High School

Kendra Nelson, Kent-Meridian Senior High School
Amy Nguyen, Kentridge Senior High School

Chandler Olsen,  Inglemoor High School
Tara Toman, Juanita High School

Gabriel Judd,  Timberline High School

Lake Stevens
Faith Mayberry, Lake Stevens High School

Yoon Bae, Lakes High School

Liberty Lake
Katelyn Dolan, Central Valley High School

Samantha Douge, Lynden Christian High School
Katherine Haveman, Lynden High School

Brittany Kinsella, Mountlake Terrace High School

Julianna Bethune, Grace Academy

Karen Vasatka, Monroe High School

Mount Vernon
Alicia Dinora Guevara, Mount Vernon High School

Mountlake Terrace

Anna Matteucci, Edmonds-Woodway High School

Heather N Pearson, Kamiak High School

Oak Harbor 
Rachel Margraf, Oak Harbor High School

Jason Agtarap, North Thurston High School
Brittany Wu, Capital High School

Megan Horton, Emerald Ridge High School
Sydne Johnson, Cascade Christian Schools
Emma Miller, Puyallup Senior High School

Mirecol L Brown, Renton High School

Thanh Dinh, Charles A. Lindbergh High School
Katherine Kerstetter, Liberty High School

Marissa Apperson, Rochester High School

Carli Cairone, Montesano Junior-Senior High

Izac Bauer, Chief Sealth High School
Ann Gordon, Ballard High School
Hanna Kumasaka, Seattle Christian Schools
Teal E Stannard, Ingraham High School

Anecia Evans, Shorewood High School
Clairisse Haines, Shorecrest High School

Marcella Bartelheimer, Snohomish High School
Mackenzie Koehler, Glacier Peak High School

Christopher Jia-Wei Yang, Cedar Park Christian School System


Christina Fischer, Mount Si High School

Rolando Lopez-Chavez, Graham-Kapowsin High School
Sloane S McGowan, Bethel High School

Emma Christie,  On Track Academy
Mason Hawk, Shadle Park High School
Bobby Le Nguyen, Governor John R. Rogers High School
Kiana Ortega, North Central High School
Rachel Postlewait, West Valley High School
Zachary Taylor, Ferris High School

Jenifer Becerril Pacheco, Clover Park High School
Freda  Ireigbe, Christian Faith School
Angela Leingang, Fife High School
Kyesha Pringle, Washington High School
Kasey Temple, Franklin Pierce High School
Joan Vo, Wilson High School

William Connor Stakelin, Tenino High School

Justin Graham,  Tumwater High School

Madison Nicole Yerges, University High School

Christian Rodriguez, Ocosta Junior-Senior High

Christa King, Sno-Isle Skills Tech Center


To date, Comcast has awarded more than $21.6 million to nearly 21,000 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners.

Connect with the scholarship winners at Explore and “like” Comcast in the community at We encourage the students and their supporters to use the hashtag #LeadersAchieversWA

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program is one of the many ways that Comcast gives back to the communities we serve. Click here to learn more.

About the Comcast Foundation

The Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June 1999 to provide charitable support to qualified nonprofit organizations. The Foundation primarily invests in programs intended to have a positive, sustainable impact on their communities. The Foundation has three community investment priorities – expanding digital literacy, promoting community service and building tomorrow’s leaders. Since its inception, the Comcast Foundation has donated nearly $140 million to organizations in the communities nationwide that Comcast serves. More information about the Foundation and its programs is available at

About wtneary

Community relations director, Comcast in Washington State.
%d bloggers like this: